The Fourth Branch of the Arizona Government

Arcadia News

The Fourth Branch of the Arizona Government

Last November, Arizona voters elected two new members to the Arizona Corporation Commission, Doug Little and Tom Forese started their four-year terms in January. The other three positions are held by commissioners Bob Stump, Bob Burns and newly elected Susan Bitter Smith, chair.

While some are familiar with the commission, others may be asking, "What is the Corporation Commission and why should I care?"

What is the Arizona Corporation Commission?

The Arizona Corporation Commission is unique. First, it derives its existence and authority from the state constitution, not from statute, as in most states. Second, Arizona commissioners are elected in a statewide election rather than appointed by the legislature or governor. Third, the commission is tasked with a broad set of responsibilities that go beyond corporate entity administration. The commission's authority extends to public utilities regulation, securities regulation and railroad and pipeline safety.

Given its constitutional roots and the fact that it functions separately from the other three branches of state government (executive, legislative and judicial), the commission is sometimes referred to as the "fourth branch" of the Arizona government.

Why should I care?

While all of the commission's areas of responsibility are important, the one that has the most direct impact on the average citizen is the commission's regulation of public utilities such as Arizona Public Service, Southwest Gas, Cox Communications, CenturyLink and numerous water and sewer companies.


Click here to read the full article published by Arcadia News.