CONTACT US

Second DUI Offense

What is a “Second Offense” in Arizona?

Anyone who has been charged with a DUI faces court-ordered punishment if they are convicted, and the severity of these penalties becomes even greater for a “second offense.” If you have been convicted of DUI within the last 7 years, and you are charged and convicted again, you will be facing significantly harsher penalties. Furthermore, the Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) in the second case controls the amount of punishment that the State will attempt to exact. The BAC in the first case does not have any bearing on the second offense.

The punishment for a conviction for DUI where there is a valid prior conviction within the last 84 months (7 years) is as follows:

  • A minimum of 30 days jail, up to a mandatory minimum of 180 days in jail;
  • $2,500.00 fines, plus surcharges;
  • Up to 5 years of probation;
  • Suspension/revocation of Driver’s License for 1 year;
  • 30 community service hours;
  • Drug/Alcohol Screening and Treatment; and
  • Ignition Interlock Device required for a minimum of 12 months (after the 1 year license suspension/revocation) up to 24 months.

Gallagher & Kennedy Can Help With Your Second Offense DUI Charge

Our Arizona DUI attorneys have extensive experience defending clients facing these and other serious DUI offenses. If you have been charged with a second offense DUI, consider consulting with an experienced Arizona DUI lawyer as soon as possible to learn how proper representation can be beneficial in the outcome of your case. Our DUI defense lawyers will prepare your case for court by scrutinizing all evidence brought against you for errors or inconsistencies and help protect your rights.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with a second DUI offense in Arizona, you may be facing severe penalties if convicted. To discuss your legal options with an experienced Arizona DUI Lawyer, contact the attorneys of Gallagher & Kennedy, by calling (602) 510-9999 today.

Frequently Asked Questions

READ MORE